Tuesday, March 4, 2014

2014 Spectrum Fantastic Art Awards finalists

The finalists for the 2014 Spectrum Fantastic Art Awards, recognizing the best works of modern fantastic art, have been announced. The gold and silver medal winners will be announced in a ceremony held during Spectrum Live, which takes place in Kansas City between 9th and 11th of May. As usual, a few hundred of the best entries for the Spectrum Fantastic Art Awards will be complied into the Spectrum annual, due to be released in the fall.

Anita Kunz — Little Monsters
Victo Ngai — A Tiger Beer Chinese New Year
Shu Yan — Go Into the Gate
Kent Williams — The Criterion Collection Lord of the Flies
Gabriel Verdon — Hiversaires

Scott Gustafson — Little Sambha and the Tiger with the Beautiful Purple Shoes with Crimson Soles
John Harris — Fire: the Road Beside the Wall
Petar Meseldzija — The Golden Apple Tree 1
Nicolas Delort — The End of the Road
Kirsti Wakelin — Dreamboats, Lilies, Koi and Chang Kuo-lao

He Jie Mona — All Corners of the Country: The Lost Buildings  #4
David Palumbo — Aliens #1 cover
Thomas Campi — The Red Door
Mark A. Nelson — Seasons, page 1
Goni Montes — Clive Barker’s Next Testament #6

Concept Art
Theo Prins — Kite City 2
Theo Prins — Refugees
Brian Matyas — Messenger Girl
Vance Kovacs — John Carter Punches a Thark
Jamie Jones — Ackzero Interior

Colin and Kristine Poole — Hot Diggety Dog
Shaun Tan — Grimm Tales: Thousandfurs
The Shiflett Bros. — Vertical Man-Tank, 1892
Jessica Dalvo — Don't Mind Me
Forest Rogers — Goblin Spider

Nicolas Delort — Rumor of Angels
Yuko Shimizu — Hair Tree
Luo Xin — Recall
Tran Nguyen — The Insects of Love
Bill Mayer — Fragile Planet

Bill Carman — Shared Eyewear
Rebecca Yanovskaya — Ascent of Man
Ed Binkley — The Hag Griselle Pays a Visit
Justin Sweet — Blacksea
Donato Giancola —  Huor and Hurin Approach Gondolin

Jean-Baptiste Monge — Ode to the Moon
Yukari Masuike — Riding Horse on the Freezing Day
Annie Stegg — Lilaia the Naiad 
Omar Rayyan — The Long Walk Home
Audrey Benjaminsen — Lady of Light

Congratulations and good luck to all the finalists!

No comments: