Thursday, September 25, 2014

2014 Premio Minotauro finalists

The finalists of the 11th edition of Premio Minotauro (El Premio Internacional de Ciencia Ficción y Literatura Fantástica de Ediciones Minotauro), the most prestigious award for an unpublished speculative fiction novel by a Spanish or Latin American author, have been announced. For the first time the winner of Premio Minotauro will be announced during Sitges, the International Fantastic Film Festival, held between 3rd and 12th October (a change of venue surrounded by controversy and debate). The members of the jury for the 2014 Premio Minotauro are Adrián Guerra (producer), Ángel Sala (the director of the Sitges Film Festival), Marcela Serras (editorial director of Minotauro), Javier Sierra (writer) and Carlos Sisí (writer and winner of the 2013 Premio Minotauro) and they’ll announce the winner on October 7th.

“¿Cuál es tu lucha?” (What is Your Fight?) by Griot (pseudonym)
“Cuéntame un cuento japonés mientras el mundo se acaba” (Tell Me a Japanese Story While the World is Ending) by Maria Antònia Martí
“Hermana noche” (Sister Night) by Morgenstern (pseudonym)
“Hugo Lémur y los ladrones de sueños” (Hugo Lémur and the Dream Thieves) by Luis Manuel Ruiz
“Por los ojos del elegido” (By the Eyes of the Chosen) by Isabel Belmonte

For the 11th edition of Premio Minotauro a total of 450 manuscripts have been received (the previous edition had 590 manuscripts in competition). 411 from 450 have been sent in electronic format, most of them have been submitted from Spain, 282, followed by Latin America, 150, especially Argentina, 55, and Mexico, 32. The majority of the submitted manuscripts are science fiction works, while the epic fantasy was in a decreasing tendency. As part of the prize the winner will receive 10,000 euro and the respective novel will be published by Ediciones Minotauro, due to be released on 28th October.

The previous winners of the Premio Minotauro are:

2004 – “Máscaras de matar” (Masks of killing) by León Arsenal
2005 – “Los sicarios del cielo” (The assassins of Heaven) by Rodolfo Martínez
2006 – “Señores del Olimpo” (Lords of Olympus) by Javier Negrete
2007 – “Gothika” by Clara Tahoces
2008 – “El libro de Nobac” (The book of Nobac) by Federico Fernández Giordano
2009 – “El Templo de la Luna” (The temple of the moon) by Fernando J. López del Oso
2010 – “Crónicas del Multiverso” (Chronicles of the multiverse) by Víctor Conde
2011 – “Ciudad sin estrellas” (City without stars) by Montse de Paz
2012 – “La Torre Prohibida” (The Forbidden Tower) by David Zurdo and Ángel Gutiérrez
2013 – “Panteón” (Pantheon) by Carlos Sisí

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: