Tuesday, June 18, 2013

2013 British Fantasy Awards nominees

The nominees for the British Fantasy Awards 2013 have been announced. The winners of each of these awards, as well as the winner of the Karl Edward Wagner Award (a special award decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee) and the World Fantasy Awards, will be announced at the Fantasy Awards banquet at the World Fantasy Convention in Brighton on Sunday, November 3, 2013.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
“Blood and Feathers” by Lou Morgan (Solaris)
“The Brides of Rollrock Island” by Margo Lanagan (David Fickling Books)
“Railsea” by China Miéville (Macmillan)
“Red Country” by Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
“Some Kind of Fairy Tale” by Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
“The Drowning Girl” by Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)
“The Kind Folk” by Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
“Last Days” by Adam Nevill (Macmillan)
“Silent Voices” by Gary McMahon (Solaris)
“Some Kind of Fairy Tale” by Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Novella
“Curaré” by Michael Moorcock (Zenith Lives!/Obverse Books)
“Eyepennies” by Mike O’Driscoll (TTA Press)
“The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine” by John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)
“The Respectable Face of Tyranny” by Gary Fry (Spectral Press)

Best Short Story
“Our Island” by Ralph Robert Moore (Where Are We Going?/Eibonvale Press)
“Shark! Shark!” by Ray Cluley (Black Static #29/TTA Press)
“Sunshine” by Nina Allan (Black Static #29/TTA Press)
“Wish for a Gun” by Sam Sykes (A Town Called Pandemonium/Jurassic London)

Best Collection
“From Hell to Eternity” by Thana Niveau (Gray Friar Press)
“Remember Why You Fear Me” by Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
“Where Furnaces Burn” by Joel Lane (PS Publishing)
“The Woman Who Married a Cloud” by Jonathan Carroll (Subterannean Press)

Best Anthology
“A Town Called Pandemonium” edited by Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (Jurassic London)
“Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane” edited by Jonathan Oliver (Solaris)
“The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories by Women” edited by Marie O’Regan (Robinson)
“Terror Tales of the Cotswolds” edited by Paul Finch (Gray Friar Press)

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)
ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)
Gray Friar Press (Gary Fry)
Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)
TTA Press (Andy Cox)

Best Non-Fiction
Ansible / David Langford
“The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature” edited by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press)
“Coffinmaker’s Blues” by Stephen Volk (Black Static/TTA Press)
Fantasy Faction / Marc Aplin
Pornokitsch / Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin
“Reflections: On the Magic of Writing” by Diana Wynne Jones (David Fickling Books)

Best Magazine/Periodical
Black Static edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
Interzone edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
SFX edited by David Bradley (Future Publishing)
Shadows and Tall Trees edited by Michael Kelly (Undertow Publications)

Best Artist
Ben Baldwin
David Rix
Les Edwards
Sean Phillips
Vincent Chong

Best Comic/Graphic Novel
“Dial H” by China Miéville, Mateus Santolouco, David Lapham and Riccardo Burchielli (DC Comics)
“Saga” by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
“The Unwritten” by Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Gary Erskine, Gabriel Hernández Walta, M.K. Perker, Vince Locke and Rufus Dayglo (DC Comics/Vertigo)
“The Walking Dead” by Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Skybound Entertainment/Image Comics)

Best Screenplay
“Avengers Assemble”, Joss Whedon
“Sightseers”, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Amy Jump
“The Cabin in the Woods”, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard
“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)
Alison Moore, for “The Lighthouse” (Salt Publishing)
Anne Lyle, for “The Alchemist of Souls” (Angry Robot)
E.C. Myers, for “Fair Coin” (Pyr)
Helen Marshall, for “Hair Side, Flesh Side” (ChiZine Publications)
Kim Curran, for “Shift” (Strange Chemistry)
Lou Morgan, for “Blood and Feathers” (Solaris)
Molly Tanzer, for “A Pretty Mouth” (Lazy Fascist Press)
Saladin Ahmed, for “Throne of the Crescent Moon” (Gollancz)
Stephen Bacon, for “Peel Back the Sky” (Gray Friar Press)
Stephen Blackmoore, for “City of the Lost” (Daw Books)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: