Tuesday, February 25, 2014

2013 Bram Stoker Award nominees

The Horror Writers Association has announced the list of nominees for the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards. The winners will be announced on May 10th at the 27th annual Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet held during the World Horror Convention 2014 in Portland, Oregon.

Superior Achievement in a Novel
“NOS4A2” by Joe Hill (William Morrow)
“Doctor Sleep” by Stephen King (Scribner)
“Malediction” by Lisa Morton (Evil Jester Press)
“A Necessary End” by Sarah Pinborough and F. Paul Wilson (Thunderstorm/Maelstrom Press)
“The Heavens Rise” by Christopher Rice (Gallery Books)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
“Candy House” by Kate Jonez (Evil Jester Press)
“The Year of the Storm” by John Mantooth (Berkley Trade)
“The Evolutionist” by Rena Mason (Nightscape Press)
“Redheads” by Jonathan Moore (Samhain Publishing)
“Stoker’s Manuscript” by Royce Prouty (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel
“Special Dead” by Patrick Freivald (JournalStone)
“Unbreakable” by Kami Garcia (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
“Project Cain” by Geoffrey Girard (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
“Dog Days” by Joe McKinney (JournalStone)
“In the Shadow of Blackbirds” by Cat Winters (Harry N. Abrams)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
“Fatale Book Three: West of Hell” by Ed Brubaker (author) & Sean Phillips (artist) (Image Comics)
“Alabaster: Wolves” by Caitlín R. Kiernan (author) & Steve Lieber (artist) (Dark Horse Comics)
“Witch Doctor, Vol. 2: Mal Practice” by Brandon Seifert (author) & Lukas Ketner (artist) (Image Comics)
“Sin Titulo” by Cameron Stewart (author & artist) (Dark Horse Comics)
“Colder” by Paul Tobin (author) & Juan Ferreyra (artist) (Dark Horse Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
“The Bluehole” by Dale Bailey (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, May/June 2013)
“The Great Pity” by Gary Braunbeck (Chiral Mad 2, Written Backwards)
“The Slaughter Man” by Benjamin K. Ethridge (Limbus, Inc., JournalStone)
“No Others Are Genuine” by Gregory Frost (Asimov’s Science Fiction, Oct./Nov. 2013)
“House of Rain” by Greg F. Gifune (DarkFuse)
“East End Girls” by Rena Mason (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
“Primal Tongue” by Michael Bailey (Zippered Flesh 2, Smart Rhino Publications)
“Snapshot” by Patrick Freivald (Blood & Roses, Scarlett River Press)
“Night Train to Paris” by David Gerrold (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan./Feb. 2013)
“The Hunger Artist” by Lisa Manetti (Zippered Flesh 2, Smart Rhino Publications)
“The Geminis” by John Palisano (Chiral Mad 2, Written Backwards)
“Code 666” by Michael Reaves (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April 2013)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
Fabien Adda and Fabrice Gobert  for The Returned: “The Horde” (Ramaco Media I, Castelao Pictures)
Brad Falchuk for American Horror Story: Asylum: “Spilt Milk” (Brad Falchuk Teley-Vision, Ryan Murphy Productions)
Bryan Fuller for Hannibal: “Apéritif” (Dino De Laurentiis Company, Living Dead Guy Productions, AXN: Original X Production, Gaumont International Television)
Daniel Knauf for Dracula: “A Whiff of Sulfur” (Flame Ventures, Playground, Universal Television, Carnival Films)
Glen Mazzara for The Walking Dead: “Welcome to the Tombs” (AMC TV)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
“Horror Library: Volume 5” edited by R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris (Cutting Block Press)
“After Death…” edited by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books)
“Barbers & Beauties” edited by Michael Knost & Nancy Eden Siegel (Hummingbird House Press)
“The Grimscribe’s Puppets” edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr. (Miskatonic River Press)
“Dark Visions: A Collection of Modern Horror, Volume One” edited by Anthony Rivera & Sharon Lawson (Grey Matter Press)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
“North American Lake Monsters: Stories” by Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer Press)
“The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories” by Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)
“The Tears of Isis” by James Dorr (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)
“The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories” by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
“Dance of the Blue Lady” by Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon Books)
“Bible Stories for Secular Humanists” by S.P. Somtow (Diplodocus Press)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
“Images of the Modern Vampire: The Hip and the Atavistic” edited by Barbara Brodman & James E. Doan (Fairleigh Dickinson)
“Ramsey Campbell: Critical Essays on the Modern Master of Horror” edited by Gary William Crawford (Scarecrow Press)
“Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing about the Master of Science Fiction” by William F. Nolan (Hippocampus Press)
“ The Intermedial Experience of Horror: Suspended Failures” by Jarkko Toikkanen (Palgrave Macmillan)
“Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors” edited by Robert H. Waugh (Scarecrow Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
“Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012” by Bruce Boston (Dark Renaissance Books)
“The Sex Lives of Monsters” by Helen Marshall (Kelp Queen Press)
“Dangerous Dreams” by Marge Simon & Sandy DeLuca (Elektrik Milk Bath Press)
“Four Elements” by Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob & Linda Addison (Bad Moon Books/Evil Jester Press)
“Hysteria: A Collection of Madness” by Stephanie M. Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!


Unknown said...

If nothing else, I've been made aware of some more books to check out. It's always a little depressing that each time a nominees list comes out for some award, I've at most read a book or two. Go figure.

Mihai A. said...

Gef, I know exactly how you feel. There are a couple of awards that keep adding titles to my already huge to-be-read pile of books.