Monday, April 18, 2011

Awards round-up

2010 Australian Shadows Awards

The winners of the 2010 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced:

“Under Stones” by Bob Franklin (Affirm Press)

“Macabre: A Journey Through Australia’s Darkest Fears” edited by Angela Challis & Marty Young (Brimstone Press)

“She Said” by Kirstyn McDermott (Scenes from the Second Storey, Morrigan Books)

Congratulations to all the winners!

2010 Galileo Awards nominees

The list of nominees for the first edition of the Galileo Awards has been announced. From today the list of nominees will be voted in the Australian system, with one title eliminated from the list at each stage and with the winners due to be announced at the National Book Fair, Bookfest, on 28th of May.

Oliviu Crâznic – “…și la sfîrșit a mai rămas coșmarul” (…and at the end remained the nightmare) (Vremea)
Michael Haulică – “Povestiri fantastice” (Fantastic Stories) (Millennium)
Mircea Opriţă – “Povestiri de duminică” (Sunday Stories) (Millennium)
Liviu Radu – “Modificatorii” (The Modifiers) (Millennium)
Cristian-Mihail Teodorescu – “S.F. Doi” (S.F. Two) (Bastion)

Ștefana Cristina Czeller – “Slujesc Zeului-Cîine” (I Serve the Dog-God) (Galileo 2)
Costi Gurgu – “Îngeri și molii” (Angels and Moths) (Galileo 2)
Michael Haulică – “Microtexte” (Microtexts) (Povestiri fantastice, Millennium, 2010)
Florin Pîtea – “Vînătoarea de sfincși” (The Hunt of Sphinxes) (Galileo 2)
Marian Truță – “Cumania 2010” (Cumania 2010) (Galileo 2)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

2010 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees

The nominees for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced at Readercon 22, which will be held between July 14th and 17th at Burlington Marriott, Burlington, Massachusetts.

“Dark Matter” by Michelle Paver (Orion)
“A Dark Matter” by Peter Straub (Doubleday)
“Feed” by Mira Grant (Orbit)
“Mr. Shivers” by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
“The Reapers Are the Angels” by Alden Bell (Holt)
“The Silent Land” by Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

“The Broken Man” by Michael Byers (PS Publishing)
“Chasing the Dragon” by Nicholas Kaufmann (Chizine Publications)
“Mysterium Tremendum” by Laird Barron (Occultation, Night Shade)
“One Bloody Thing After Another” by Joey Comeau (ECW Press)
“Subtle Bodies” by Peter Dubé (Lethe Press)
“The Thief of Broken Toys” by Tim Lebbon (Chizine Publications)

“--30—“ by Laird Barron (Occultation, Night Shade)
“The Broadsword” by Laird Barron (Black Wings, PS Publishing)
“Holderhaven” by Richard Butner (Crimewave 11: Ghosts)
“The Redfield Girls” by Laird Barron (Haunted Legends, Tor)
“Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains” by Neil Gaiman (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)

“As Red as Red” by Caitlin R. Kiernan (Haunted Legends, Tor)
“Booth's Ghost” by Karen Joy Fowler (What I Didn't See, Small Beer Press)
“The Foxes” by Lily Hoang (Haunted Legends, Tor)
“six six six” by Laird Barron (Occultation, Night Shade)
“The Things” by Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, Issue 40)

“Occultation” by Laird Barron (Night Shade)
“The Ones That Got Away” by Stephen Graham Jones (Prime Books)
“The Third Bear” by Jeff Vandermeer (Tachyon)
“What I Didn't See” by Karen Joy Fowler (Small Beer Press)
“What Will Come After” by Scott Edelman (PS Publishing)

“Black Wings: Tales of Lovecraftian Horror” edited by S. T. Joshi (PS Publications)
“Haunted Legends” edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas (Tor)
“My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales” edited by Kate Bernheimer (Penguin)
“Stories: All New Tales” edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio (William Morrow)
“Swords and Dark Magic: The New Sword and Sorcery” edited by Jonathan Strahan and Lou Anders (Eos)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: