Friday, August 27, 2010

2010 Chesley Awards

While away on vacation one of the awards I follow with great interest announced its winners. The Chesley Awards are at their 25th Anniversary and The Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists announced the winners of 2010 Chesley Awards, for works eligible from 2009, at ReConStruction, the 10th Occasional North American Science Fiction Convention, held between 5th and 8th of August in Raleigh, NC.

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book: Matthew Stewart for “The Valley of Shadow” by Brian Cullen (Tor Books)

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book: Scott Altmann for “The Mysterious Mr. Spine: Flight” by Jason Lethcoe (Grosset & Dunlap)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine: John Picacio for “Asimov’s”, September 2009

Best Interior Illustration: Gary Lippincott for “Come to the Fairies Ball” by Jane Yolen (Wordsong)

Best Color Work – Unpublished: Raoul Vitale for “Unrequited”

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished: Justin Gerard for “Steampunk Wizard of Oz”

Best Three Dimensional Art: Vincent Villafranca for “The Switching Hour”

Best Gaming-Related Illustration: Lucas Graciano for “Silverwing” (Legends of Norrath card)

Best Product Illustration: Matthew Stewart for “Battle Under the Mountain” (Illuxcon 2 ID tag, info folder and show catalog)

Best Art Director: Irene Gallo (Tor Books)

Contribution to ASFA: Ingrid Neilson for work on the Chesley Awards for 20+ years

Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement: Greg Hilldebrandt

Congratulations to all the winners!

No comments: