Monday, June 4, 2012

2011 Australian Shadows Awards

The Australian Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2011 Australian Shadows Awards:

NOVELNo award

Honorable mention: “The Broken Ones” by Stephen M. Irwin

LONG FICTION: “The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt” by Paul Haines (“The Last Days of Kali Yuga”)

Honorable mentions: “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living” by Deborah Biancotti (“Ishtar” edited by Amanda Pillar & K.V. Taylor)
“Sleeping and the Dead” by Cat Sparks (“Ishtar” edited by Amanda Pillar & K.V. Taylor)
“From the Teeth of Strange Children” by Lisa L. Hannett (“Bluegrass Symphony”)

COLLECTION: “Tales of Sin and Madness” by Brett McBean

Honorable mentions: “Bluegrass Symphony” by Lisa L. Hannett
“The Last Days of Kali Yuga” by Paul Haines
“Matilda Told Such Dreadful Lies” by Lucy Sussex
“Apocrypha Sequence” (all four volumes) by Shane Jiraiya Cummings

EDITED: “Dead Red Heart” edited by Russell B. Farr

Honorable mentions: “More Scary Kisses” edited by Liz Grzyb
“Midnight Echo 6” edited by David Kernot, David Conyers & Jason Fischer
“The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy & Horror” edited by Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene

SHORT STORY: “Shovel-Man Joe” by Amanda J. Spedding (Shades of Sentience/available online here)

Honorable mentions: “Taking It for the Team” by Tracie McBride (Dead Red Heart)
“The Sea at Night” by Joanne Anderton (Dead Red Heart)
“The Wanderer in Darkness” by Andrew J. McKiernan (Midnight Echo 6)
“Out Hunting for Teeth” by Joanne Anderton (Midnight Echo 6)

Congratulations to all!


Anonymous said...

How about that? A "No Award" for Best Novel. Very interesting.

Mihai A. said...

Adam, that is very interesting indeed. Especially since they could have given the award to a novel they considered the best of the year, although not award winning worthy.