Monday, February 16, 2015

2014 Kitschies Awards

There are several genre awards that keep my attention close to them, always providing a few more titles and authors to read. One such award is the Kitschies, which proved to be true to its words of highlighting “the most progressive, intelligent and entertaining genre literature” over the time. It is no different this year, my faith in the Kitschies adding further building bricks on my tower of books I wish to read being rewarded by their recently announced 2014 shortlist. The winners of the 2014 Kitschies Awards will be announced on March, 4th.

 The Red Tentacle (Novel)

“Lagoon” by Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)
“Grasshopper Jungle” by Andrew Smith (Egmont)
“The Peripheral” by William Gibson (Viking)
“The Way Inn” by Will Wiles (4th Estate)
“The Race” by Nina Allan (NewCon Press)

The Golden Tentacle (Debut)

“Viper Wine” by Hermione Eyre (Jonathan Cape)
“The Girl in the Road” by Monica Byrne (Blackfriars)
“Memory of Water” by Emmi Itäranta (HarperCollins)
“The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” by Becky Chambers (Self-Published)
“The People in the Trees” by Hanya Yanagihara (Atlantic Books)

The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

“The Ghost of the Mary Celeste” design by Steve Marking, lettering by Kimberly Glyder (Weidenfeld and Nicolson)
“A Man Lies Dreaming” cover by Ben Summers (Hodder and Stoughton)
“Through the Woods” cover by Emily Carroll and Sonja Chaghatzbanian (Faber and Faber)
“The Book of Strange New Things” cover by Rafaela Romaya and Yehring Tong (Canongate)
“Tigerman” cover by Glenn O'Neill (William Heinemann)

The Invisible Tentacle (Natively Digital Fiction)

“echovirus12” created/curated by Jeff Noon @jeffnoon, Ed @3dgriffiths, James Knight @badbadpoet, violet sprite @gadgetgreen, Richard Biddle @littledeaths68, Mina Polen @polen, Uel Aramchek @ThePatanoiac, Graham Walsh @t_i_s_u, Vapour Vox @Wrong_Triangle
“Kentucky Route Zero, Act III” by Cardboard Computer
“80 Days” by Inkle Studios
“Sailor's Dream” by Simogo

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!