Thursday, May 6, 2010

2009 Shirley Jackson Awards Nominees

As the awards official website states: In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.
The Shirley Jackson Awards reward the best work published in the previous year and the 2009 edition is the third one. At the Shirley Jackson Awards Website we can find the 2007 and 2008 nominees and winners of the each edition. The 2009 Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented at Readercon 21, which will take place between July 8th and 11th, 2010 in Burlington, Massachusetts. The nominees for the 2009 Shirley Jackson Awards are:

- "Big Machine" by Victor LaValle (Speigel & Grau)
- "Last Days" by Brian Evenson (Underland Press)
- "The Little Stranger" by Sarah Waters (Riverhead)
- "The Owl Killers" by Karen Maitland (Delacorte Press)
- "The Red Tree" by Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)
- "White is for Witching" by Helen Oyeyemi (Nan A. Talese)

- "The Language of Dying" by Sarah Pinborough (PS Publishing)
- "Midnight Picnic" by Nick Antosca (Word Riot Press)
- "Sea-Hearts" by Margo Lanagan (X6, coeur de lion)
- "Shrike" by Quentin S. Crisp (PS Publishing)
- "Vardøger" by Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)
- "The Witnesses are Gone" by Joel Lane (PS Publishing)

- "Catch Hell" by Laird Barron (Lovecraft Unbound, Dark Horse)
- "Each Thing I Show You Is a Piece of My Death" by Gemma Files and Stephen J. Barringer (Clockwork Phoenix 2, Norilana Books)
- "Lonegan’s Luck" by Stephen Graham Jones (New Genre 6)
- "Morality" by Stephen King (Esquire)
- "The Night Cache" by Andy Duncan (PS Publishing)

- "The Crevasse" by Dale Bailey and Nathan Ballingrud (Lovecraft Unbound, Dark Horse)
- "Faces" by Aimee Bender (The Paris Review, Issue 191, Winter 2009)
- "The Jacaranda Smile" by Gemma Files (Apparitions, Undertow Publications)
- "The Pelican Bar" by Karen Joy Fowler (Eclipse 3, Night Shade)
- "Procedure in Plain Air" by Jonathan Lethem (The New Yorker, April 5, 2010)
- "Strappado" by Laird Barron (Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe, Solaris)

- "Everland and Other Stories" by Paul Witcover (PS Publishing)
- "Fugue State" by Brian Evenson (Coffee House Press)
- "Love Songs for the Shy and Cynical" by Robert Shearman (Big Finish Productions)
- "There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairy Tales" by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya (Penguin)
- "Tunneling to the Center of the Earth" by Kevin Wilson (Harper Perennial)
- "Zoo" by Otsuichi (Haikasoru/VIZ Media)

- "Apparitions" edited by Michael Kelly (Undertow Publications)
- "British Invasion" edited by Christopher Golden, Tim Lebbon and James A. Moore (Cemetery Dance)
- "Exotic Gothic 3: Strange Visitations" edited by Danel Olson (Ash Tree Press)
- "Lovecraft Unbound" edited by Ellen Datlow (Dark Horse)
- "Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe" edited by Ellen Datlow (Solaris)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: