Monday, March 19, 2012

2011 Aurealis Awards finalists

The nominees for the 2011 Aurealis Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced in award ceremony held on 12th of May at the Independent Theatre in Sydney.


“The Undivided” by Jennifer Fallon (HarperVoyager)
“Ember and Ash” by Pamela Freeman (Hachette)
“Stormlord’s Exile” by Glenda Larke (HarperVoyager)
“Debris” by Jo Anderton (Angry Robot)
“The Shattered City” by Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperVoyager)


“Fruit of the Pipal Tree” by Thoraiya Dyer (After the Rain, FableCroft Publishing)
“The Proving of Smollett Standforth” by Margo Lanagan (Ghosts by Gaslight, HarperVoyager)
“Into the Clouds on High” by Margo Lanagan (Yellowcake, Allen & Unwin)
“Reading Coffee” by Anthony Panegyris (Overland)
“The Dark Night of Anton Weiss” by D.C. White (More Scary Kisses, Ticonderoga Publications)


“Machine Man” by Max Barry (Scribe Publications)
“Children of Scarabaeus” by Sara Creasy (HarperVoyager)
“The Waterboys” by Peter Docker (Fremantle Press)
“Black Glass” by Meg Mundell (Scribe Publications)
“The Courier’s New Bicycle” by Kim Westwood (HarperVoyager)


“Flowers in the Shadow of the Garden” by Joanne Anderton (Hope, Kayelle Press)
“Desert Madonna” by Robert Hood (Anywhere but Earth, Couer de Lion)
“SIBO” by Penelope Love (Anywhere but Earth, Couer de Lion)
“Dead Low” by Cat Sparks (Midnight Echo)
“Rains of la Strange” by Robert N Stephenson (Anywhere but Earth, Couer de Lion)

No shortlist or winning novel – two honotable mentions awarded to:

“The Broken Ones” by Stephen M. Irwin (Hachette)
“The Business of Death” by Trent Jamieson (Hachette)


“And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living” by Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar, Gilgamesh Press)
“The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt” by Paul Haines (The Last Days of Kali Yuga, Brimstone Press)
“The Short Go: a Future in Eight Seconds” by Lisa L. Hannett (Bluegrass Symphony, Ticonderoga Publications)
“Mulberry Boys” by Margo Lanagan (Blood and Other Cravings, Tor)
“The Coffin Maker’s Daughter” by Angela Slatter (A Book of Horrors, Quercus)


“Shift” by Em Bailey (Hardie Grant Egmont)
“Secrets of Carrick: Tantony” by Ananda Braxton-Smith (Black Dog Books)
“The Shattering” by Karen Healey (Allen & Unwin)
“Black Glass” by Meg Mundell (Scribe Publications)
“Only Ever Always” by Penni Russon (Allen & Unwin)


“Nation of the Night” by Sue Isle (Nightsiders, Twelfth Planet Press)
“Finishing School” by Kathleen Jennings (Steampunk! An anthology of fantastically rich and strange stories, Candlewick Press)
“Seventy-Two Derwents” by Cate Kennedy (The Wicked Wood – Tales from the Tower Volume 2, Allen and Unwin)
“One Window” by Martine Murray (The Wilful Eye: Tales from the Tower Volume 1, Allen and Unwin)
“The Patrician” by Tansy Rayner Roberts (Love and Romanpunk, Twelfth Planet Press)

CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through words)

“The Outcasts” by John Flanagan (Random House Australia)
“The Paradise Trap” by Catherine Jinks (Allen & Unwin)
“It Began with a Tingle” by Thalia Kalkapsakis (Headspinners, Allen & Unwin)
“The Coming of the Whirlpool” by Andrew McGahan (Allen & Unwin)
“City of Lies” by Lian Tanner (Allen & Unwin)

CHILDREN’S FICTION (told primarily through pictures)

“The Ghost of Annabel Spoon” by Aaron Blabey (author and illustrator) (Penguin/ Viking Books)
“Sounds Spooky” by Christopher Cheng (author) and Sarah Davis (illustrator) (Random House Australia)
“The Last Viking” by Norman Jorgensen (author) and James Foley (illustrator) (Fremantle Press)
“The Deep: Here be Dragons” by Tom Taylor (author) and James Brouwer (illustrator) (Gestault Publishing)
“Vampyre” by Margaret Wild (author) and Andrew Yeo (illustrator) (Walker Books)


“Hidden” by Mirranda Burton (author and illustrator ) (Black Pepper)
“Torn” by Andrew Constant (author) and Joh James (illustrator ), additional illustrators Nicola Scott, Emily Smith (Gestalt Publishing)
“Salsa Invertebraxa” by Mozchops (author and illustrator) (Pecksniff Press)
“The Eldritch Kid: Whiskey and Hate” by Christian Read (author) and Michael Maier (illustrator) (Gestalt Publishing)
“The Deep: Here be Dragons” by Tom Taylor
(author) and James Brouwer (illustrator) (Gestault Publishing)


“Ghosts by Gaslight” edited by Jack Dann and Nick Gevers (HarperVoyager)
“Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010” edited by Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene (Ticonderoga Publications)
“Ishtar” edited by Amanda Pillar and KV Taylor (Gilgamesh Press)
“The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year Volume 5” edited by Jonathan Strahan (Night Shade Books)
“Life on Mars” edited by Jonathan Strahan (Viking)


“Bad Power” by Deborah Biancotti (Twelfth Planet Press)
“Last Days of Kali Yuga” by Paul Haines (Brimstone Press)
“Bluegrass Symphony” by Lisa Hannett (Ticonderoga Publications)
“Nightsiders” by Sue Isle (Twelfth Planet Press)
“Love and Romanpunk” by Tansy Rayner Roberts (Twelfth Planet Press)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: