Monday, November 2, 2009

2009 World Fantasy Awards

The 2009 World Fantasy Awards winners have been announced this week-end at the World Fantasy Convention:

Life Achievement: Ellen Asher & Jane Yolen

Best Novel: "The Shadow Year" by Jeffrey Ford (Morrow) & "Tender Morsels" by Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin; Knopf)

Best Novella: "If Angels Fight" by Richard Bowes (F&SF 2/08)

Best Short Story: "26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss" by Kij Johnson (Asimov's 7/08)

Best Anthology: "Paper Cities: An Anthology of Urban Fantasy" edited by Ekaterina Sedia (Senses Five Press)

Best Collection: "The Drowned Life" by Jeffrey Ford (HarperPerennial)

Best Artist: Shaun Tan

Special Award - Professional: Kelly Link & Gavin J. Grant (for Small Beer Press and Big Mouth House)

Special Award - Non-Professional: Michael J. Walsh (for Howard Waldrop collections from Old Earth Books)

Congratulations to all the winners!

No comments: