Monday, March 28, 2011

2011 Ditmar Awards

The nominees for the 2011 Ditmar Awards, awarded annually since 1969 and recognizing the achievement in Australian science fiction, have been announced. The winners will be announced at the Swancon36, the 36th Annual Western Australian Science Fiction & Fantasy Convention, held between 21st and 25th April at Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel.

Best Novel:
“Death Most Definite” by Trent Jamieson (Hachette)
“Madigan Mine” by Kirstyn McDermott (Pan Macmillan)
“Power and Majesty” by Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager)
“Stormlord Rising” by Glenda Larke (Voyager)
“Walking the Tree” by Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books)

Best Novella or Novelette:
“Acception” by Tessa Kum (Eneit Press)
“All the Clowns in Clowntown” by Andrew J. McKiernan (Brimstone Press)
“Bleed” by Peter M. Ball (Twelfth Planet Press)
“Her Gallant Needs” by Paul Haines (Twelfth Planet Press)
“The Company Articles of Edward Teach” by Thoraiya Dyer (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Short Story:
“All the Love in the World” by Cat Sparks (Sprawl, Twelfth Planet Press)
“Bread and Circuses” by Felicity Dowker (Scary Kisses, Ticonderoga Publications)
“One Saturday Night With Angel” by Peter M. Ball (Sprawl, Twelfth Planet Press)
“She Said” by Kirstyn McDermott (Scenes From the Second Storey, Morrigan Books)
“The House of the Nameless” by Jason Fischer (Writers of the Future XXVI)
“The February Dragon” by Angela Slatter and Lisa L. Hannett (Scary Kisses, Ticonderoga Publications)

Best Collected Work:
“Baggage” edited by Gillian Polack (Eneit Press)
“Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears” edited by Angela Challis and Marty Young (Brimstone Press)
“Scenes from the Second Storey” edited by Amanda Pillar and Pete Kempshall (Morrigan Books)
“Sprawl” edited by Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
“Worlds Next Door” edited by Tehani Wessely (FableCroft Publishing)

Best Artwork:
Cover art – “The Angaelien Apocalypse/The Company Articles of Edward Teach” (Twelfth Planet Press) - Dion Hamill
Cover art – “Australis Imaginarium” (FableCroft Publishing) - Shaun Tan
Cover art – “Dead Sea Fruit” (Ticonderoga Publications) - Olga Read
Short film – “The Lost Thing” (Passion Pictures) - Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan

Best Fan Writer:
Robert Hood for Undead Backbrain
Chuck McKenzie for work in Horrorscope
Alexandra Pierce for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
Tehani Wessely for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus

Best Fan Artist:
Rachel Holkner for Continuum 6 props
Dick Jenssen for cover art of Interstellar Ramjet Scoop
Amanda Rainey for Swancon 36 logo

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium:
“Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus” edited by Alisa Krasnostein et al.
“Bad Film Diaries” podcast - Grant Watson
“Galactic Suburbia” podcast - Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Alex Pierce
“Terra Incognita” podcast - Keith Stevenson
“The Coode Street” podcast - Gary K. Wolfe and Jonathan Strahan
“The Writer and the Critic” podcast - Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond

Best Achievement:
Lisa L. Hannett - cover design for “The Girl With No Hands and Other Tales” (Ticonderoga Publications)
Helen Merrick and Andrew Milner - Academic Stream for Aussiecon 4 Amanda Rainey - cover design for “Scary Kisses”
Kyla Ward - Horror Stream and The Nightmare Ball for Aussiecon 4
Grant Watson and Sue Ann Barber - Media Stream for Aussiecon4
Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely - Snapshot 2010

Best New Talent:
Thoraiya Dyer
Lisa L. Hannett
Patty Jansen
Kathleen Jennings

Pete Kempshall

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review:
Leigh Blackmore for “Marvels and Horrors: Terry Dowling’s Clowns at Midnight”
Damien Broderick for editing “Skiffy and Mimesis: More Best of Australian Science Fiction” Review
Ross Murray for “The Australian Dream Becomes Nightmare”
Tansy Rayner Roberts for “A Modern Woman’s Guide to Classic Who”

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: