Tuesday, June 9, 2009

British Fantasy Awards Shortlist Announced

The British Fantasy Society announced yesterday the shortlist for this year’s British Fantasy Awards. Until the 1st of August the shortlist is open to voting and the winners will be announced at the British Fantasy Awards Ceremony at FantasyCon, which will be held between 18th and 20th of September. Here are the nominees:

- "Memoirs of a Master Forger" by William Heaney and Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
- "Midnight Man" by Simon Clark (Severn House)
- "Rain Dogs" by Gary McMahon (Humdrumming)
- "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury)
- "The Victoria Vanishes" by Christopher Fowler (Little Brown)
- "Thieving Fear" by Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)

- "Cold Stone Calling" by Simon Clark (Tasmaniac Publications)
- "Gunpowder" by Joe Hill (PS Publishing)
- "Heads" by Gary McMahon ("We Fade To Grey" edited by Gary McMahon - Pendragon Press)
- "The Narrows" by Simon Bestwick ("We Fade To Grey" edited by Gary McMahon - Pendragon Press)
- "The Reach of Children" by Tim Lebbon (Humdrumming)

- "All Mouth" by Paul Meloy ("Black Static 6" edited by Andy Cox - TTA Press)
- "Do You See" by Sarah Pinborough ("Myth-Understandings" edited by Ian Whates – Newcon Press)
- "N" by Stephen King ("Just After Sunset" - Hodder & Stoughton)
- "Pinholes in Black Muslin" by Simon Strantzas ("The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror" edited by Ian Alexander Martin - Humdrumming)
- "The Caul Bearer" by Allyson Bird ("Bull Running For Girls" – Screaming Dreams)
- "The Tobacconist’s Concession" by John Travis ("The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror" edited by Ian Alexander Martin - Humdrumming)
- "The Vague" by Paul Meloy ("Islington Crocodiles" - TTA Press)
- "Winter Journey" by Joel Lane ("Black Static 5" edited by Andy Cox - TTA Press)

- "Bull Running for Girls" by Allyson Bird (Screaming Dreams)
- "Glyphotech" by Mark Samuels (PS Publishing)
- "How To Make Monsters" by Gary McMahon (Morrigan Books)
- "Islington Crocodiles" by Paul Meloy (TTA Press)
- "Just After Sunset" by Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)

- "Cone Zero" edited by DF Lewis (Megazanthus Press)
- "Myth-Understandings" edited by Ian Whates (Newcon Press)
- "Subtle Edens" edited by Allen Ashley (Elastic Press)
- "The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 19" edited by Stephen Jones (Constable & Robinson)
- "The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror" edited by Ian Alexander Martin (Humdrumming)
- "We Fade To Grey" edited by Gary McMahon (Pendragon Press)

- "Basil Copper: A Life in Books by Basil Copper" edited by Stephen Jones (PS Publishing)
- "Doctor Who: The Writer's Tale" by Russell T. Davies and Benjamin Cook (BBC Books)
- journal.neilgaiman.com by Neil Gaiman
- "Mutant Popcorn" by Nick Lowe (Interzone - TTA Press)
- "What Is It We Do When We Read Science Fiction" by Paul Kincaid (Beccon Publications)

- Elastic Press (Andrew Hook)
- Newcon Press (Ian Whates)
- Pendragon Press (Chris Teague)
- Screaming Dreams (Steve Upham)
- TTA Press (Andy Cox)

- "Black Static" edited by Andy Cox (TTA Press)
- "Interzone" edited by Andy Cox et. al. (TTA Press)
- "Midnight Street" edited by Trevor Denyer
- "Postscripts" edited by Peter Crowther & Nick Gevers (PS Publishing)
- "SFX" edited by Dave Bradley (Future Publishing Limited)

- Dave McKean ("The Graveyard Book", Bloomsbury)
- Edward Miller ("Vault of Deeds", PS Publishing)
- Lee Thompson ("The Land at the End of the Working Day", Humdrumming)
- Les Edwards (Various works)
- Vincent Chong (Various works)

- "30 Days of Night: Beyond Barrow" - Steve Niles/Bill Sienkiewicz (IDW Publishing)
- "All-Star Superman" - Grant Morrison/Frank Quitely (DC Comics)
- "Buffy Season Eight Vol. 3: Wolves at the Gate" - Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard/ Georges Jeanty (Dark Horse Comics)
- "Comic Book Tattoo Tales" Inspired by Tori Amos - edited by Rantz A. Hoseley & Tori Amos/Various (Image Comics)
- "Hellblazer: Fear Machine" - Jamie Delano (Vertigo)
- "Hellblazer: The Laughing Magician" - Andy Diggle/Leonardo Manco & Daniel Zezelj (Vertigo)
- "Locke and Key" - Joe Hill/Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing)
- "The Girly Comic Book 1" - edited by Selina Lock (Factor Fiction)
- "The New Avengers: Illuminati" - Brian Bendis & Brian Reed/Jim Cheung (Marvel Comics)

- Battlestar Galactica (NBC)
- Dead Set (Zeppotron/Channel 4)
- Dexter (Clyde Phillips Productions)
- Doctor Who (BBC Wales)
- Supernatural (Warner Bros TV)

- "Cloverfield" directed by Matt Reeves
- "Iron Man" directed by Jon Favreau
- "The Dark Knight" directed by Christopher Nolan
- "The Mist" directed by Frank Darabont
- "The Orphanage" directed by Juan Antonio Bayona

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!


Liviu said...

William Heaney is an in-joke by the author who is Graham Joyce of course.

The memoir in question is supposedly written by William Heaney who is the narrator.

The US publishers did not get the joke so they changed the title and put Graham Joyce on the cover.

The book is just superb btw, was my #1 mainstream fantastic novel of 2008 and if I would combine that with pure genre, it would be there as co-#1 alongside Caine 3.

Mihai A. said...

I thought so, although I didn't had information. I knew however that William Heaney is the hero of "How to Make Friends with Demons" by Graham Joyce.
I didn't get the chance to read the novel, but maybe because it is shortlisted for the BFA will speed my reading. I like to see all the shorlisted titles and to make my own opinion about the winner :)