Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Awards Round-up

The British Science Fiction Association have announced this week-end the winners of the 2008 BSFA Award:
Best novel: “The Night Sessions” by Ken MacLeod
Best short fiction: “Exhalation” by Ted Chiang
Best non-fiction: “Rhetorics of Fantasy” by Farah Mendlesohn
Best artwork: Andy Bigwood for the cover of “Subterfuge” edited by Ian Whates

The 2009 Philip K. Dick Award has two winners this year:

“Emissaries from the Dead” by Adam-Troy Castro

“Terminal Mind” by David Walton

The British Fantasy Society has released the longlist of nominees for the 2009 British Fantasy Awards and which can be found here. The winners will be announced in September at FantasyCon.

The newly created David Gemmell Legend Award for Fantasy has announced their first list of finalists:

“Last Argument of Kings” by Joe Abercrombie
“Heir to Sevenwaters” by Juliet Marillier
“The Hero of Ages” by Brandon Sanderson
“Blood of Elves” by Andrzej Sapkowski
“The Way of Shadows” by Brent Weeks

The voting is open until May 31st and the awards will be held at London on June 19th.

The BookSpot Central book tournaments reached the finishing line and the winners are:
2008 Book Tournament: “Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse” by Victor Gischler
2008 All-Time Tournament: “I Am Legend” by Richard Matheson
2008 Dealers Choice Tournament: “Armed and Magical” by Lisa Shearin


Adele said...

Great round up, I was getting very confused.

Mihai A. said...

Thank you very much. There are quite a few awards around :)