Friday, June 25, 2010

2010 John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Science Fiction Novel is a science fiction award founded in 1973, its ceremony held since 1979 at the University of Kansas in a week-end long conference. Unlike other science fiction awards the winners of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award are selected by a jury. This year’s conference, during which the winner of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award will be announced, will take place between July 16th and 18th. It is interesting to see that among this year’s nominees are two of the 2009 most discussed, nominated and awarded novels, China Miéville’s “The City & The City” and Paolo Bacigalupi’s “The Windup Girl”. Here are the 2010 finalists:

- Margaret Atwood“The Year of the Flood” (Nan A. Talese)
- Paolo Bacigalupi“The Windup Girl” (Night Shade Books)
- Iain M. Banks“Transition” (Orbit)
- Cory Doctorow“Makers” (Tor)
- Nancy Kress“Steal Across the Sky” (Tor/Pyr)
- Paul McAuley“Gardens of the Sun” (Gollancz)
- China Miéville“The City & The City” (Pan Macmillan/Del Rey)
- Adam Roberts“Yellow Blue Tibia” (Gollancz)
- Kim Stanley Robinson“Galileo’s Dream” (Spectra)
- Robert J. Sawyer“WWW: Wake” (Ace/Gollancz)
- Bruce Sterling“The Caryatids” (Del Rey)
- Robert Charles Wilson“Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America” (Tor)

Congratulations and good luck to all the nominees!

No comments: